from the Office on Violence Against Women
Cindy Dyer, Director for the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), today announced the newly designated Sexual Assault Services Program. The program will support the establishment, maintenance and expansion of rape crisis centers and other programs and projects to assist those victimized by sexual assault. This program was authorized as part of the Violence Against Women Act and Department of Justice Reauthorization Act of 2005.

“The new Sexual Assault Services Program will focus on providing improved services for sexual assault victims and a stronger criminal justice response to sexual assault crimes,” said Ms. Dyer, who made the announcement during National Sexual Assault Awareness month. “I look forward to working with sexual assault victim advocates, service providers and criminal justice professionals to implement this important program.” Ms. Dyer is an experienced prosecutor and a recognized authority on the topic of family violence and sexual assault.
In addition to establishing rape crisis centers, awards made through the program will assist states, Indian tribes and territories to provide intervention and related assistance services. These may include: 24-hour hotline services; accompaniment and advocacy through medical, criminal justice and social support systems, including medical facilities, police and court proceedings; crisis intervention; and community-based, linguistically and culturally specific services and support mechanisms, including outreach activities for underserved communities.
An announcement regarding eligibility requirements, funding thresholds and application procedures for the Sexual Assault Services Program will be forthcoming. Once available, the grant solicitation will be posted on