This web conference is sponsored by Ms. Foundation for Women.


This web conference was the second in a series of nine web conferences on Ending Child Sexual Abuse. This is a collaboration between PreventConnect and Ms. Foundation for Women. Please see the materials and recordings from the previous web conference “Working with the Media to End Child Sexual Abuse.”
The third web conference on July 19, 2012, is titled “Preventing the Perpetration of Child Sexual Abuse.” If we are serious about ending child sexual abuse, then we need to pay attention to why there are so many adults, adolescents and even children who perpetrate acts of sexual abuse. In this web conference, two national experts, Joan Tabachnick and David Prescott, bring a wealth of information about what we know (and don’t know) about those who sexually abuse. Through this brief web conference, we will explore the research available about the adults who have sexually offended as well as the sexually abusive adolescents and children with sexual behavior problems. The speakers will also explore how this information can be/has been useful to the development of prevention programs.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

This ninety-minute (90 min) session will start at 2 PM Eastern Standard
(1 PM Central, 12 PM Mountain, 11 AM Pacific, 10 AM Alaska, 8 AM Hawai’i)
Sponsor: Ms. Foundation for Women
Hosts: Cordelia Anderson
Speakers:

Joan Tabachnick

David Prescott

Learning Objectives:

  1. Identify risk and protective factors for perpetration.
  2. Identify emerging research topics that can be useful to prevention programming.
  3. Describe three strategies for strengthening efforts to prevent the perpetration of sexual abuse.

Resources from this web conference: