PreventConnect.org

Lori Dorfman of the Berkeley Media Studies Group


The next PreventConnect web conference From Data to Prevention II: Using Data to Make the Case for Prevention will explore how to “create news to prevent violence.”  The web conference will be held on Monday, July 25, 2011, 11am Pacific Time (2pm Eastern Time, 1pm Central Time, noon Mountain Time) and repeated on Tuesday, July 26, 2011. Click here to register for this free web conference.

Larry Cohen of the Prevention Institute


ln this web conference, participants will learn how to use the media effectively to move our work forward, and go from a downstream, reactive approach to an upfront, proactive approach. Join an insightful discussion with Berkeley Media Studies Group‘s Lori Dorfman and Prevention Institute‘s Larry Cohen as they discuss how to make the case for prevention in media using data and other forms of media messaging. We will discuss the broader media context as well as the most current opportunities and discussion focusing on media messaging and data analysis. Sexual and domestic violence advocates cannot change norms and environments without acknowledging and leveraging the critical role that media coverage has in shaping the understanding of, and conversations about, violence.
This web conference is the next in a series to prepare for Fall 2011  release of data from the new sexual violence, intimate partner violence and stalking survey conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Previous web conferences on related topics included From Data to Prevention: Framing Sexual and Domestic Violence Prevention Impact From a Cost-Effectiveness Perspective, Understanding the Differences Between National Sexual Violence and Intimate Partner Violence Surveys, and Changing the public perception about violence against women.